Richard Named Player of the Year, 10 Southland Players Named All-American

No Comments

first_imgSchwartz is a rare, four-time first-team All-American. The senior from Racine, Wis., was named the MVP of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Invitational and was a member of the 2018 Southland Bowling League Championship All-Tournament Team. She posted five top-20 individual finishes this season. She separated herself from the pack this season by leading the NCAA in strike percentage (56 percent), traditional average (214.37) and filled frame percentage (89.6 percent). After earning a spot on five All-Tournament teams throughout the regular season, the decorated senior earned Southland Bowling League Championship MVP. The Southland Bowling League also registered leaders in four different statistical categories in the 2017-18 season. Schwartz led the nation in baker frame average (21.363) while Richard led in traditional frame average (21.437) and strike percentage (56.0). Bulanova ranked first in baker double percentage with 58.21. Honorable Mention Kaitlyn Eder, Louisiana Tech Jaqueline Evans, Monmouth Olivia Farwell, DuquesneRebecca Gotterbarn, NY AdelphiMadison McCall, Tulane Alexis Neuer, Delaware StateMichelle Ng, Tulane Lauren Pate, McKendreeTaylor Russell, Alabama BirminghamStephanie Zavala, Sam Houston State The third team consists of Taylor Bailey (McKendree), Kelly Belzeski (Nebraska), Jessica Mellott (McKendree), Kristin Quah (Vanderbilt) and Meghan Straub (Nebraska). 2017-18 NTCA All-Americans Coach of the Year Division I: Bill Straub NebraskaDivision II/III: Shannon O’Keefe McKendreeJoe Slowinski Lincoln Memorial Rookie of the YearDivision I: Kaitlyn Eder, Louisiana Tech Division II/III: Justine Brookover, Lincoln Memorial Third Team Taylor Bailey, McKendreeKelly Belzeski, NebraskaJessica Mellott, McKendreeKristin Quah, Vanderbilt Meghan Straub, Nebraska Player of the Year Division I:  Jordan Richard, Arkansas State Division II/III:  Breanna Clemmer, McKendree First Team Jordan Richard, Arkansas State Julia Bond, NebraskaBreanna Clemmer, McKendreeStephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin Raquel Orozco, Nebraska The Tecumseh, Mich. native is concluding a dominating career that has seen her win the Division II/III Player of the Year Award as a freshman at Central Missouri before claiming the honor again last season as a junior. TEAM CATEGORIESWin-Loss Percentage: Nebraska, 88.89% (96-12)Baker Double %: Nebraska, 50.31%Strike %: McKendree, 50.20%Traditional Frame Average: Nebraska, 20.781Baker Frame Average: McKendree, 20.282Single-Pin Spare Conversion %: McKendree, 91.57%Spare %: McKendree, 73.79% Richard heads the five-woman first team that includes Julia Bond and Raquel Orozco of Nebraska, Stephanie Schwartz of Stephen F. Austin and Breanna Clemmer of McKendree. NTCA All-America Release | NTCA Statistical Leaders ReleaseST. LOUIS, Mo. – Arkansas State’s Jordan Richard was named the Division I Player of the Year for the second year in a row, the National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA) announced Wednesday. The Southland Bowling League garnered 10 total selections to the NTCA All-America Team. The NTCA second team includes Maria Bulanova (Vanderbilt), Karsyn Lukosius (Fairleigh Dickinson), Amanda Nardiello (Sacred Heart), Haley Richard (Arkansas State) and Sarah Wille (McKendree). Second TeamMaria Bulanova, Vanderbilt Karsyn Lukosius, Fairleigh DickinsonAmanda Nardiello, Sacred HeartHaley Richard, Arkansas State Sarah Wille, McKendree Louisiana Tech’s Kaitlyn Eder, was named the Rookie of the Year for Division I. The first year Lady Techster led all freshmen in overall average. INDIVIDUAL CATEGORIESBaker Frame Average: Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F Austin, 21.363 Traditional Frame Average: Jordan Richard, Arkansas State, 21.437 Strike %: Jordan Richard, Arkansas State, 56.0% Baker Double %: Maria Bulanova, Vanderbilt, 58.21% Single-Pin Conversion %: Kelly Belzeski Nebraska, 96.5%Overall Spare Conversion %: Kelly Belzeski Nebraska, 78.7%last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *